Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Ward 7 ANC Redistricting Task Force submits ANC SMD boundary recommendations to City Council

The Ward 7 Advisory Neighborhood Commission Redistricting Task Force, in a letter to DC Councilperson and the Council's Redistricting Subcommittee Co-Chairperson, Michael Brown dated October 11, 2011, submitted it's recommendations for the Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANC)[1] and Single Member District (SMD) boundaries as required by law. Click here for the Task Force's cover letter, ANC and SMD definitions. These proposed districts, once enacted, will remain in place for 10 years, or until after the next census.

As a follow-up to the submitted recommendations, the DC Council’s Subcommittee on Redistricting will be holding a hearing on B19-528, the “Advisory Neighborhood Commission Boundaries Act of 2011” on Tuesday, November 29, 2011 at 10:00 am in the Council Chambers. If you are interested in testifying at the hearing, please contact Carol Sadler at (202) 724-8198 or csadler@dccouncil.us and provide your name and organizational affiliation, by 5 p.m. on Monday, November 28, 2011. Witnesses should bring 20 copies of their written testimony to the hearing.

Please see Commissioner Robert Richards' testimony regarding B19-528 - Advisory Neighborhood Commissions Boundaries Act of 2011 before the Subcommittee on Redistricting of the District of Columbia City Council, chaired by Councilman Michael A. Brown to the right.

[1] The 37 Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANCs) in the District of Columbia are subdivisions of the City Council Wards. Representatives from ANCs are elected to advise the District government on issues relating to zoning, social service programs, health, police protection, sanitation, and recreation.

No comments:

Post a Comment